Trapped

IMG_20150807_161406 I can’t get the image out of my head.  He touched my cheek and slowly tucked a strand of hair behind my ear. He brought his face close to mine. I had my eyes closed tight in a feeble attempt to freeze time and forget what was happening. Turning my head away from his raspy breath reeking of Old Monk while his fingers dug into my arms holding me prisoner. “Now now be calm, there is no reason to be afraid. We were just playing.”, he whispered and l let go. I scrambled to the nearest corner, drawing my knees close to my chest. He smirked and walked away to answer the phone. It was all my fault. This scene. The man. The marriage. The cut on  my lip had dried but it still pained when I tried opening my mouth.

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda. WOW theme of the week: ‘Your post should begin with, ‘I can’t get the image out of my head.”

Edit: This post was selected by BlogAdda as a WOW post for 7 August 2015 edition.

wowbadge

This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trapped

  1. Archi_palego says:

    Touched. sad. Well written. And the title suits just perfect. Congrats for WoW selection.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.