The Unsent Letter – 2

Dear A,

Let me begin by wishing you a very happy and prosperous new year. Now that you have got me hook, line and sinker into this letter writing activity, I wish to thank you for being patient with this lazy reclusive woman. Strangely enough, did I tell you that I find this idea of penning down a letter quite novel and thrilling. With the scattered thoughts penned down, there is a sense of calmness that encompasses the being; a sense of accomplishment and some relief. Is it just me, or do you also feel anything like that?

As a child, letter writing was a weekly activity at home. I used to write to my aunt in Bangalore, my grandfather in Burdwan and to my friend in Bhilai. Every inch of the yellow postcard was utilized. I was so nervous while writing down the address, there was absolutely no room for error! After sending them out there began a period of waiting. The anticipation of a letter and its contents kept one on their toes. Who knew that the written word could hold such spell-binding charms?

That was a long time ago. If not for you, I don’t see myself writing one. I have recently moved to a different city and the change is suiting me well. It was time I moved out my ‘cocoon’ as you say. You pushed me out here!

Bangalore is different. There are so many people! Not as many you would spot in Ranganathan Street any day, but a fair number. I have made a few new friends, they are amiable, but its not the same as what we had back in Chennai. I know you told me not to dwell in the past, but in this new city the memories keep me company. They shine so bright that I often find myself reminiscing. For a few more days, let me hold on to them. In this new city, with new address – I will try make some new ones.

Hope my sob story didn’t get too long. Write back to me with your travel dates. We should get the ticket and hotel bookings done by February. It might get too late if we delay it further.

Cheers,                                                                                                             Meera

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

